Why I Can’t Have Nice Things

Children, they’re the reason I can’t have nice things.

We bought brand new furniture a few years ago; a couch, a loveseat, a couple of chairs. All destroyed.

Most of our DVDs and game disks are scratched beyond repair.

Our printer has dried play-dough in most of its various ports.

We don’t own a single board game that has all it’s pieces.

Books have been drawn on. So have walls. And tables. And anything else reachable by little hands holding writing implements.

Lamps have been broken.

Phones have been dropped in glasses of water.

We rent and have never gotten back a safety deposit.

And the prompt for this particular post; computers, oh dear God the computers that have been reduced to paper weights. I’m not going to go into details about the two Macbooks that were destroyed or the netbook that I’m currently typing on that is literally held together by duct tape and was once set on fire. No, I want to talk about the brand new laptop I got for Christmas. This Christmas, December 25th 2012. Yep, the nice, fast, big bright screened, sharp image having laptop that got knocked up in the air before it went crashing to the floor rendering it useless. That was the latest victim in onslaught of destruction that is my children…

I think I’m going to go stomp some toys now.

5 comments on “Why I Can’t Have Nice Things

  1. I have a laptop that is missing roughly 9 keys, it just survived having a glass of water poured on it but after drying it out in the airing cupboard for a few days it now makes a ‘piiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiinnnnggggg!!’ noise if the sound is turned on due to one non existant key thinking its being pressed down all the time. I painted the same wall 4 times before giving up due to my little man insisting on getting creative on it. Ive gone through 3 phone chargers in a month and i regularly find apple cores in my bed and bogeys on my freshly washed clothes…. its fun isnt it 🙂

Leave a Reply

