It’s Finally Over

The end didn’t come easily.

My oldest cried from the time he woke-up to right before getting on the bus.

Demon Spawn cried because he didn’t want his momma to go back to work.

And my wife, in a lateness induced rage, kicked the baby in the face for getting in her way as she was trying to get out the door. (Okay, she didn’t actually kick him in the face as much as trip over him as he toddled in front of her while she had her hands full, but I am going to use the “kicked the baby in the face” later in a “Oh yeah? Well do you remember that time you …” moment.)

Like I said, it wasn’t easy, but Christmas “vacation” officially ended this morning.

The house is mine again.

No more people in my way… Well, there’s fewer people in my way.

No more horrible cacophony of multiple electronic toys and entertainment devices going off all at once.

No more weekday mornings filled with the screams of the two oldest children as they fight like a couple of coked-up honey badgers over who had what first.

No more “Daddy can I use the computer?” or “Sweetie, I need to use laptop when you get a minute.”

No more “help” when I try to do things.

Oh no, no more of any of that…

Or at least until the weekend gets here.

4 comments on “It’s Finally Over

  1. moragandme says:

    I am sharing your feelings of relief this morning. My 3 year-old went back to daycare today after the Christmas holiday, and I am so glad to be “help” free!

    Love your blog!

  2. Dizzy says:

    Strange, I can’t wait to get back to work to escape husband and the spawn. All I hear is “Mommy can I”, “Honey, can I…”. Work is a relief

    • agitatedangler says:

      Ha!
      I’m sure my wife was happy to get back to work to just to get away from the kids. Not me though. I’m always a total pleasure to be around. 😉

Leave a Reply

